Q: How many days does it take to get a duplicate title, after application?
A: 3-4 days
Q: How much does it cost to transfer a vehicle?
A: The cost of transfer depends upon the purchase price of the vehicle and the trade in value for usage or sales tax amounts, you will pay 6% of either the sales price or one-half the trade In value, whichever is greater. If you have a purchased a rebuilt vehicle your usage or sales tax amount will be based solely on the purchase price. Each transfer of title and registration cost $17 dollars, a title only transfer will cost $12 in addition to any sales or usage tax.
Q: How much is a marriage license and what are the requirements?
A: A marriage license cost $35.50. Kentucky no longer has a waiting period or a blood test requirement, however there are age restrictions. If both groom and bride are over 18 years of age, then both must come into the clerk’s office and fill out an application prior to marriage. If either is less than 18 years of age but at least 16 years of age then parental consent is required before the license can be issued.. If the female is less than 18 years of age but at least 16 years of age the application must be done in her county of residence. If either party is less than 16 years of age, the county clerk cannot issue a marriage license, even with parental consent. A district court judge may order a license issused if the girl is under 16 and pregnant.
Q: What is a speed title and how much does it cost?
A: A speed title is printed the day of application and cost $29.00.
Q: How much does it cost to junk a vehicle and how do I do that?
A: To junk a vehicle that is no longer usable or will not be used in any capacity you must surrender the title. The cost is $1.
Q: What are your business hours?
A: We are open 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday –Friday and 8:00 a.m. to Noon on Saturday.
Q: Do I have to have insurance before I can transfer a vehicle into my name?
A: Kentucky law requires you present proof of liability insurance on any vehicle before it can be titled and registered in your name. You may still to a title only without insurance and this requires that you surrender the plate at time of title.
Q: How much does it cost to record a deed?
A: A deed of 3 pages or less cost $17.00 to record plus a cost of $3 per page for each page over 3 plus a cost of $1 per thousand on the cost of property, with some exceptions.
Q: Do I have to pay sales or usage tax on a vehicle I am getting from my parents?
A: Transfers between parent and child are exempt from usage tax.
Q: How much does it cost to renew my vehicle registration?
A: A regular registration, not a special one, cost $21 per year renewal fee plus any property tax due on the vehicle at that time. Motor vehicle property tax is assessed against all vehicles on January 1 of each years on the owner of record on that January 1 date.
Q: How do I become a Notary Public?
A: Notary public commissions are valid for four (4) years. The following requirements must be met:
- Applicant must be eighteen (18) years old or older
- Resident of Leslie County
- Good moral character
- Capable of discharging duties imposed by law
- Cannot be a convicted felon
- Applicant must complete application for Appointment to the Office of Notary Public Form. The form may be picked up in County Clerk's Office or can be downloaded from the Secretary of State website.
- Application must be signed by the Judge Executive, County Clerk or Circuit Clerk, Justice of the Peace, or a member of the General Assembly of the county of residence of the applicants.
- The completed application must be mailed to:
Kentucky Secretary of State
PO Box 821
Frankfort, KY 40602-0821
A $10.00 state fee must accompany the application.
- If approved, the applicant will be notified that a "Certificate of Appointment" has been sent to the applicant's County Clerk.
- The applicant must come to the County Clerk's Office to take the oath of office and post bond. The bond may be an insurance policy bond or a property owner can be the surety. The property owner must come to the clerk's office and sign for the applicant.
- The recording fee is $13.00